Focus

Hardel
Le Bihan ×
Alun Be

Photo : Ethos, Edification Series © Alun Be
Interview by Clémence Mathieu

On site, february 2018

The restructuration of the Université Cheikh Anta Diop (UCAD) campus in Dakar, Senegal, is on site. Hardel Le Bihan were commissioned for the student lodgings, working in partnership with artist and young Senegalese architect Alun Be, who was responsible for advising the team on local culture and identity. At the Dakar Art Biennale 2018, and in a joint exhibition with designer Jean-Servais Somian, Alun Be revisits the challenges of this experience of co-conception, essential in his mind, and the role that his generation must play in building the African city of tomorrow.

The new student residences on the Cheikh Anta Diop Campus, spread over the three sites of UCAD1, École Polytechnique and Cité Claudel, will house 10,000 students from 2019.

Clémence Mathieu (HLB) :
When you met Cyrille and Mathurin three years ago, you said that you had divorced architecture. Why?

Alun Be :
It is not easy to be an architect in Senegal. To give you an idea, around 250 have registered as architects in Senegal since 1960 (year of independence). I don't feel that local architects benefit from the recognition that would enable them to obtain more experience on big projects, which are generally given to foreign architects, Italian, Spanish, French. When I came back from the US in 2013, qualification in hand, I found myself between two worlds, weighing up mixing 'international baggage' with local understanding. In my country people who build with architects are too few and far between for me to find my place. That is why I turned to photography.

View from a bedroom.

CM:
As part of the UCAD Campus design team, your original role was to inform and advise the team on social interaction, Africans' relationship with space and privacy, life in the bedroom, etc. At what point did you make the step from advisor to artist?

AB:
From our first meetings Cyrille and Mathurin were interested in my personal history and proposed that I also got involved as an artist, notably on the buildings' gable walls. Of course I was enthusiastic, but the proposal seemed too far removed from local habits to be likely to come to fruition. However, they championed the project right through to the end and it came off. The brick mosaics in relief on the gables will be a major feature in the perception of the new campus.

The mosaics were formed by making bricks of different thicknesses and firing conditions. Visible from a distance, they are inspired by key figures in the history of the university.

Five different bricks were developed to give variety within the groups of buildings (27 in total, spread over three sites: UCAD 1, Cité Claudel and École Supérieure Polytechnique).

“The dialogue around how Africa is perceived, by foreigners and by the Africans themselves, is right at the heart of my photographic work. The exchange was fascinating.” — Alun Be

CM :
You also worked and provided a kind of artistic direction on the design of the moucharaby screens?

AB :
When the project started, Hardel Le Bihan's team – five architects at design phase – had already done a lot of research, in-depth, on a series of Senegalese symbols and their geometric translation as patterns for moucharabys, those decorative facade elements that provide protection from the sun, ventilation, and privacy in the bedrooms. The massing of the buildings, the repetitive grid formed by the bedrooms and budget restrictions, called for careful consideration of the decoration of the facades. As the architects were open-minded, I was able to help them graft the DNA of Africa onto their research. It wasn't good enough to be approximate, southern or Mediterranean. This project had to be African.

Screens at design phase.

“The architects developed simple screens, based on straight lines, to express their use, well-being and climatic comfort rather than any decorative intention.” — Alun Be

CM :
Today you are generally optimistic about the evolution of the architect's profession in Senegal. How has this project changed your view of things?

AB :
It's the open-mindedness and tenacity of the whole design team that convinced me of the importance of the profession. The stakes are huge, particularly in my country where architecture can have a defining influence on social well-being, climatic comfort, acceptance of environmental challenges, on culture. This combination of open-mindedness and conviction was necessary to enable the expression of local knowledge and skills in this project. Senegal is a country where a great many different communities cohabit. Working together on co-conception and in a spirit of dialogue is exactly what we need.

Exhibition 'Dialogue at Work': Alun Be, Hardel Le Bihan Architectes, Jean-Servais Somian, 6 May to 30 June 2018. Pop up Gallery 49, Rue Bugnicourt Dakar Plateau, Senegal.

www.alunbe.com

Madame Deme, Empowering Women Series. ©Alun Be

Alun Be was born in Dakar in 1981. He grew up in different countries in West Africa and in France. He studied Art and Architecture in the US, in Miami and San Francisco. 14 years later he returned to Senegal, registering as an architect in 2013. After two years of practice he moved to Denmark, where he set up as a photographer. Soon after he participated in the Milan Universal Exposition in 2015, exhibiting photographs taken in Senegal. In 2016 he worked as advisor on the project for UCAD's new student campus in Dakar, on which he reconciled being an architect with his career as an artist. Since 2016 he has lived in Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

Focus

Hardel
Le Bihan ×
Alun Be

Photo : Ethos, Edification Series © Alun Be
Propos recueillis par Clémence Mathieu

Sur le chantier, février 2018

À Dakar, la restructuration des campus de l’Université Cheikh Anta Diop (UCAD) est en chantier. Les logements étudiants ont été confiés à l’agence Hardel Le Bihan, en collaboration avec Alun Be, artiste et jeune architecte sénégalais chargé de conseiller l’équipe sous l’angle de la Culture et de l’identité locale. À l’occasion de la Biennale d’Art de Dakar 2018 et d’une exposition collective avec le designer Jean-Servais Somian, Alun Be revient sur les enjeux de cette expérience de co-conception essentielle à ses yeux, et sur le rôle que sa génération doit jouer dans la réalisation de la ville africaine de demain.

Les nouvelles résidences du Campus Cheikh Anta Diop, répartis sur trois sites de l’UCAD1, l’École Polytechnique et la Cité Claudel, accueilleront 10 000 étudiant(e)s à partir de 2019.

Clémence Mathieu (HLB) :
Quand tu as rencontré Cyrille et Mathurin il y a 3 ans, tu disais avoir divorcé de l’architecture. Pourquoi ?

Alun Be :
Être architecte n’est pas simple au Sénégal. Pour vous donner une idée, il y a environ 250 inscrits à l’Ordre des architectes du Sénégal depuis 1960 (année des indépendances). Les architectes locaux ne jouissent pas, à mon avis, de la reconnaissance qui leur permettrait d’acquérir davantage d’expérience sur de beaux projets, généralement attribués à des confrères étrangers, Italiens, Espagnols, Français. Quand je suis rentré des États-Unis, diplôme en poche en 2013, je me suis retrouvé entre deux mondes, mesurant le challenge qu’il y avait à mixer « bagage international » et connaissance des façons de faire locales. Mais dans mon pays, trop peu nombreux sont ceux construisent avec des architectes pour que j’y trouve ma place. C’est pourquoi je me suis tourné vers la photographie.

Une chambre.

CM :
Au sein de l’équipe de maîtrise d’œuvre des Campus UCAD, ta mission consiste à l’origine à renseigner et conseiller l’équipe sur les interactions sociales, le rapport des africains à l’espace et à l’intimité, la vie dans la chambre, etc. A quel moment es-tu passé de conseiller à artiste ?

AB :
Dès les premières rencontres, Cyrille et Mathurin se sont intéressés à mon parcours et m’ont proposé d’intervenir aussi en tant qu’artiste, notamment sur les murs pignons des bâtiments. J’étais enthousiaste, bien sûr, mais la proposition me semblait trop éloignée des habitudes locales pour avoir une chance d’aboutir. Pourtant, ils ont défendu le projet jusqu’au bout et ça a marché. Ces mosaïques de briques en relief sur les murs pignons vont être un élément très marquant dans la perception du nouveau Campus.

Les mosaïques sont obtenues par la préparation de briques d’épaisseur et de cuisson différentes. Visibles de loin, elles sont inspirées de personnalités marquantes de l’Université.

5 typologies de briques ont été développées pour créer une variété au sein des groupes de bâtiments (27 au total, répartis sur trois sites : UCAD 1, Cité Claudel et École supérieure Polytechnique).

« Ce dialogue autour du regard porté sur l’Afrique, par les étrangers et les africains eux-mêmes, est précisément au cœur de mon travail photographique. » — Alun Be

CM :
Tu as aussi travaillé et assuré une forme de direction artistique sur le design des claustras des moucharabiehs ?

AB :
Au démarrage du projet, l’équipe Hardel Le Bihan, qui mobilisait 5 personnes sur ces études, avait déjà fait beaucoup de recherches, approfondies, sur une série de symboles sénégalais et sur leur traduction géométrique sous forme de motifs de moucharabiehs, ces éléments de façades décoratifs qui protègent du rayonnement solaire, ventilent les espaces et préservent l’intimité des chambres. La volumétrie des bâtiments, la trame répétitive induite par les chambres et les contraintes budgétaires demandaient effectivement une réflexion fine sur l’animation des façades. Comme les architectes étaient ouverts d’esprit, j’ai pu les aider à regreffer l’ADN africain dans leurs recherches. On ne pouvait pas se contenter d’être approximatif, méridional ou méditerranéen. Ce projet se devait d’être africain.

Claustras en phase d’études.

« Les architectes ont développé des claustras simples, à base de lignes droites, capables d’exprimer le sens de leur usage, le bien-être et le confort climatique plus qu’une intention décorative. » — Alun Be

CM :
Aujourd’hui ton discours sur l’évolution du métier d’architecte au Sénégal est plutôt optimiste. En quoi ce projet a t’il modifié ta vision des choses ?

AB :
C’est l’ouverture d’esprit et la ténacité de toute l’équipe de maîtrise d’œuvre qui m’a convaincue de l’importance du métier. L’enjeu est énorme, en particulier dans mon pays où l’architecture peut avoir une influence décisive sur le bien-être social, le confort climatique, la prise en compte des enjeux environnementaux, la Culture. Ce mélange d’ouverture et de conviction était nécessaire pour que les connaissances et les savoir-faire locaux puissent s’exprimer dans le projet. Le Sénégal est un pays où cohabitent de très nombreuses communautés. Travailler en co-conception dans un esprit de dialogue, c’est exactement ce dont nous avons besoin.

L’expo est à découvrir jusqu'au 30 juin 2018, Pop up Gallery 49, rue Bugnicourt, Dakar Plateau, Sénégal.
Ouverture du mardi au dimanche, de 11h à 20h.

www.alunbe.com

© Alun Be

Alun Be est né à Dakar en 1981. Il a grandi dans différents pays d’Afrique de l’Ouest et en France. En classe de première, il part aux États-Unis où il va étudier l’Art et l’Architecture, à Miami et San Francisco. 14 ans plus tard, il rentre au Sénégal où il s’inscrit en 2013 à l’Ordre des architectes. Après deux ans d’exercice, il s’installe au Danemark où il devient photographe. Il participe presque aussitôt à l’Exposition universelle de Milan de 2015, avec les photos qu’il réalise au Sénégal. En 2016, il est conseiller sur le projet des nouveaux campus étudiants de l’UCAD à Dakar où il concilie son statut d’architecte et sa carrière d’artiste. Il vit depuis 2016 à Amsterdam aux Pays-Bas.

Madame Deme, Empowering Women Series. ©Alun Be